Communication Design – Flat UI Design Practise

My first attempt with Flat Ui Design was with a top view of  Macbook Pro. The original design itself is quite simple and therefore I wouldn’t require detail illustration for viewers to identify it being a Macbook Pro.

I used this tutorial to help guide me creating my first ever flat UI design: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmRf5feJaUI

I also used http://flatuicolors.com/ for the colour palette.

Below are screenshots of how I created it

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 18.17.09

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 18.19.34

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 18.29.49

I first began laying out the workspace with the rectangle tool. I then used the Effect>Transform in order create copies of the button rather than drawing it out one by one. It also allowed me to align and arrange them easier.

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 19.03.59

Once the workspace was created, I began filling them in with colours to bring them to life. I then used the Effect>Convert to Shape>Rounded Rectangle which let me curved the edges on my rectangles to give the workspace the same shape as a Macbook.

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 19.44.38

I then applied the same effect with my keys.

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 19.13.32

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 19.25.10

I then created the top part of the macbook and added a darker shade to the edge.

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 20.37.39

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 20.37.46

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 21.03.16

The next step was to create a flat shadow. I did this by creating the shadow shape with the pen tool then moved the shape down the layer so that it was behind the keys. I then clip masked it with the main workspace shape. This allowed the the drawn shape to mask the workspace so that it is identical. finally I changed the colour of the shadow so it was a darker version of the workspace.

Macbook Pro

This is the final outcome of my flat design of the Macbook Pro

Overall I’m very pleased with my outcome as I was able to create a flat design of the Macbook Pro. I was very happy with how I understood the techniques the tutorial showed and was able to adapt it to my own preferences. The practise gave me a better idea of how flat designs work and I found it to be very interesting to create. My next challenge is to create a flat design without the guidance of the tutorial.

Leave a Reply

