Communication Design – Typography Research

In order to understand the history of typography I looked up at a video on youtube which illustrated the background of some of the well known typography that is used around the world today.

Watching the video helped me get a better understanding about the type of typography that was created and why they were. For most reasons new typography was invented in order to be easier to read. Mass media production has also lead to typography to increase in variety in order to be visible on a wider range platforms.

I was able to have a clearer idea of the type of typography I intend on using when design my A2 poster. I want to use a typography that has no serifs at all as they are very clear to look at and is currently a modern use for typography. This has allowed me to identify the “Lato” as the ideal typeface for my poster. The style is bold and simple which will compliment the flat design illustrations I will be using.

Leave a Reply

